You Use WHAT to Grow Your Hair?

Clip ins, tape ins, fusion, links, sewn-in- you name the type of extension … I’ve tried them all! I have put my hair through the torture of bleach, relaxers, dyes and heat and have literally and figuratively paid for it!

As I started a whole life transformation, I started focussing on health from within for many reasons. Instead of falling for the latest ‘Hair Growth Shampoo’ or mask that promises to ‘rebuild your hair’, I started a routine of vitamins, oil treatments, and a whole lot of au natural hair days! Here is my routine for long luscious locks!

Disclaimer: I am not an expert, nor am I a pharmacist. I have consulted with my doctor and this vitamin routine is what ended up working for me. Consult your doctor before changing your routine! Like any change, allow for at least one month of consistency 

  1. Healthy diet rich with fatty acids, vitamins, proteins and greens
    Your hair exposes your inside health. I eat a healthy clean diet full of proteins, legumes, greens and a lot of salmon. Make sure to get Omegas 3, 6 and 9 on top of your other vitamins. Vitamins are helpful if your diet is lacking, though I do need the extra help with biotin, iron and calcium. Consider your diet before you start supplementing with vitamins.

    Vitamins

    Biotin

    *helps to grow hair, nails and even improve eyes and liver function

    *metabolizes carbs, fats and proteins (hair is made of a protein called Keratin)

    Dosage: 5000 mcg tablet or 3 tablets of 1000 mcg and a gummy

    Nature’s Bounty Hair and Nail Gummies

    *Same as biotin, and has added antioxidants and Vitamins C and E

    *fun way to take vitamins occasionally

    Dosage: contains 1250 mcg of biotin per gummy, 2 a day with an added 1000 mcg tablet

    Prenatal Vitamins 

    *Multi-vitamin with added calcium and  Iron (which I need)

    *no proof that this works, but when I added this into my biotin routine, that is when I noticed a difference

    Dosage: one tablet a day

2. Shower everyday, but do not shampoo your hair! 

Shampooing everyday or even every other day is not good for your hair. It strips it of natural oils that your body produces to protect your strands. I wash my hair every three to four days (washing your hair and showering your body are different!). Dry shampoo is helpful, though it can clog your follicles, which will end up stunting the growth. Try to come up with creative up do’s instead! When I do shampoo, I use apple cider vinegar to balance the Ph of my hair, and then scrub my scalp clean ( circular motions to stimulate follicles)with my rosemary/ peppermint essential oil shampoo bar. This will promote growth at the root by keeping your scalp clean ( these two oils are known for their hair growth benefits)! I use conditioner only on my ends.

3. Oil treatments/ masks

If I have no where to go, you better believe I will be walking around with oil in my hair! My everyday oils are almond and coconut oil. Once a week, I use Castor Oil on my scalp to promote a healthy moisturised scalp. This oil is very thick, so I don’t do it often, as I don’t like having to wash my hair twice at once. You can also try to dilute it with another kind of oil. When you are feeling really fancy, wrap your oiled hair in plastic wrap and apply heat. The main purpose of oil is to produce a healthy scalp fit for growing, as well as moisturizing your dry ends. There are also so many natural DIY masks using ingredients from your kitchen that help your hair health. These are much better than the ‘natural’ ones companies claim to make.

4. Trims

Hair dressers always say these are crucial for hair growth. They are, but not for the reason you think. They will get rid of split and dead ends so that they do not spread up. This is very important, but it will not speed up your hair growth. I have had 3 trims in the past year, and my hair is feeling great!

Extra Tips: 

Use a wide toothed comb when your hair is wet. Brush very gently.

Use scrunchies as it does not put so much pressure onto the strands as elastics.

Try not to apply any heat to your hair! Air dry instead!

Try to avoid hair dye. For darker colours, think about using Henna, or other plant based alternatives.

Finally:

Hair growth is a labor of love! Stick to it and you will reap the rewards. Remember that what may work for me, maybe different for you so play around with these tips and let me know how it goes! Good luck!

P.CO

 

